Health and social care

BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care Course
Tutor - Mrs F Green

Mandatory units: (All units must be completed)

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (Exam)
Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (Exam)
Unit 6: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)

Optional units: (One unit must be completed)

Unit 16: Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (Coursework)


Two units are coursework based and will be internally assessed. This will be completed during lessons and as homework.  Meeting deadlines are a vital part of the course

Two of the mandatory units will be assessed through written examinations

Placements/work experience will be a compulsory part of the course.  These will be within appropriate health and social care settings.

Further education options
This qualification offers routes into many different careers some of these are:
• Nursing
• Midwifery
• Social work
• Care assistant
• Early years practitioners
• Primary school teachers

All of these career routes require further training.